Bonn, Beethoven-Haus
Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France
Berlin, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin

Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven Facsimile Edition

Our price

More Buying Choices

Request Info

With his ninth symphony, Beethoven ventured into new musical dimensions. In the final movement, soloists and choir join forces with the orchestra, and Schiller's "Ode to Joy" becomes a global aspiration, a declaration: "Alle Menschen werden Brüder!" (All mankind becomes brothers).

In his commentary, the great Beethoven scholar Lewis Lockwood describes the plea which Beethoven wanted to deliver at that time with this work and how views of this have changed over the centuries. Jonathan Del Mar, a renowned editor of Beethoven's works, comments on noteworthy passages in the autograph manuscript and allows the reader to share in the composer's working process.

Already the large-format paper which Beethoven used for some passages makes the large forces clear. Cuts, sometimes reversed later, show how he wrestled with the final version of the musical text and refined it right down to the last detail.

The history of the autograph manuscript reflects an episode in German history: after storage in various places because of the war, the major parts were returned to Berlin but were initially divided by the Berlin Wall and only reunited in 1990. Martina Rebmann who is the Director of the Music Department at the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin traces this story.

In 1972 the main theme of the last movement was chosen by the Council of Europe as the European anthem and in 1985 it was adopted by the European Community as its official anthem. In 2001 the manuscript was listed in UNESCO's Memory of the World Register.

We have 1 facsimile edition of the manuscript "Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven": Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125 facsimile edition, published by Bärenreiter-Verlag, 2010

Request Info / Price
Manuscript book description compiled by the publisher.
Please Read
International social justice movements and the debates that ensued prompted us to start considering the contents of our website from a critical point of view. This has led us to acknowledge that most of the texts in our database are Western-centered. We have asked the authors of our content to be aware of the underlying racial and cultural bias in many scholarly sources, and to try to keep in mind multiple points of view while describing the manuscripts. We also recognize that this is yet a small, first step towards fighting inequality.

If you notice any trace of racist or unjust narratives in our communications, please help us be part of the change by letting us know.

Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125

Kassel: Bärenreiter-Verlag, 2010

  • Commentary (English, German, Japanese) by Lockwood, Lewis; Del Mar, Jonathan; Rebmann, Martina
  • This is a partial facsimile of one or more portions of the original document, Symphony no. 9 D minor op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven: the facsimile might represent only a part, or doesn't attempt to replicate the format, or doesn't imitate the look-and-feel of the original document.

The facsimile is the complete reproduction of the whole original document, however, the pages - not trimmed according to the original - are set on a larger white background.

For the first time, the facsimile presents all the parts of the manuscript including pages preserved in Bonn and Paris as well as the trombone and contrabassoon parts.

Our Price

More Buying Choices

Request Info